Methodology: how we verify specs and calculate cost per Wh

Power Portable computes every ranking metric from verified manufacturer specifications and live retailer prices using four open formulas. When a manufacturer does not publish a required input, Power Portable displays "not stated" and leaves dependent metrics blank.

Where specifications come from and how they are verified

Every specification in the Power Portable catalog is extracted directly from the manufacturer's official US product page or published PDF manual and re-verified on a second fetch pass. Our automated crawler re-checks active manufacturer specification pages weekly and logs every raw text excerpt with its fetch timestamp.

How Power Portable calculates value, lifetime energy, and weight efficiency

Power Portable ranks portable power stations using four deterministic formulas rather than subjective editorial scores. Using the verified Anker SOLIX C1000X (1,056 Wh, 3,000 cycles to 80%, 28.4 lb), lifetime deliverable energy equals 2,851.2 kWh and weight density equals 37.2 Wh/lb.

Power Portable computed metric formulas and worked examples
MetricFormulaWorked example (Anker SOLIX C1000X)Unit
Price per watt-hourprice / capacity_whLive offer price divided by 1,056 Wh$/Wh
Lifetime deliverable energycapacity_wh * cycles_rated * ((100 + cycles_retention_pct) / 200) / 10001,056 * 3,000 * 0.90 / 1,000 = 2,851.2kWh
Cost per lifetime kWhprice / lifetime_kwhLive offer price divided by 2,851.2 kWh$/kWh
Energy density by weightcapacity_wh / weight_lb1,056 Wh / 28.4 lb = 37.2Wh/lb

What "not stated" means when a cycle count is missing

If a manufacturer page does not state both a cycle count and a capacity retention percentage, Power Portable displays "not stated" and returns a null lifetime energy and null lifetime cost. For example, the ALLPOWERS S700 product page states 606 Wh and 700 W continuous output without a rated cycle retention pair.

Comparison of complete specification row vs row lacking rated cycle count
ModelCapacityContinuous ACChemistryRated cyclesLifetime energyLifetime costWh per lb
Anker SOLIX C1000X Portable Power Station1,056 Wh1,800 WLFP3,000 to 80%2,851.2 kWhnot stated37.2 Wh/lb
ALLPOWERS S700 Portable Power Station606 Wh700 Wnot statednot statednot statednot stated52.2 Wh/lb
Source:Anker SOLIX C1000X official specification page(checked 2026-11-06)Source:ALLPOWERS S700 official specification page(checked 2026-11-06)

Why catalog watt-hours differ from usable AC watt-hours

Rated battery capacity in watt-hours measures internal DC storage before DC-to-AC inverter losses and battery management system cutoffs. Our runtime calculator defaults to an 85% usable AC fraction and lets you adjust that assumption from 70% to 95%.

Rated catalog capacity (100% of stated Wh)Usable AC capacity (default 85% assumption after inverter and BMS loss)

Return to the portable power station price table or read our affiliate disclosure.

Published rules for "Best Portable Power Station" category picks

Picks on /guides/best-portable-power-station come from manufacturer specs and current prices. We do not run hands-on tests. Every category winner is selected automatically from active, specification-verified portable power stations and bundles in new condition that are currently in stock with a verified retailer price:

  • Lowest $/Wh overall (new, in stock): Lowest price / capacity_wh across all eligible stations and bundles.
  • Best under $500, $1,000, $2,000: Lowest price / capacity_wh with a verified in-stock price strictly below $500, $1,000, or $2,000.
  • Lowest cost per lifetime kWh: Lowest price / lifetime_kwh among eligible units with a stated cycle count and capacity retention percentage.
  • Most Wh per pound: Highest capacity_wh / weight_lb among eligible priced in-stock units.
  • Best for home backup: Lowest price / capacity_wh among eligible expandable units (expandable = 1) that state a UPS switchover time (ups_switchover_ms IS NOT NULL).