What is a solar generator? Power station plus panel bundles and recharge math
By Power Portable Editorial Staff · Updated · Picks come from manufacturer specs and current prices. We do not run hands-on tests.
Verified solar generator bundles (power station + panels included)
| Bundle model | Battery capacity | Continuous AC | Max solar input | Bundle price | $/Wh |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLPOWERS R2500 V2 + SE160 160W Solar Panel Solar Generator Kit | 1,920 Wh | 2,500 W | 160 W | $149.00 | $0.08 |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Solar Generator | 6,144 Wh | not stated | 1,000 W | $1,579.00 | $0.26 |
| ALLPOWERS R2500 V2 + 200W Solar Panel | 1,920 Wh | 2,500 W | 1,000 W | $788.99 | $0.41 |
| VTOMAN Jump 1800/3096Wh V-BEYOND® Portable Power Station with 400W Solar Panel | 3,096 Wh | 1,800 W | not stated | $1,299.00 | $0.42 |
| VTOMAN Jump 1800 V-BEYOND® Portable Power Station with 110W Solar Panel | 1,548 Wh | 1,800 W | not stated | $669.00 | $0.43 |
| ALLPOWERS Solar Generator Kit 2000W (S2000 + SF100 100W Flexible Solar Panel) | 1,500 Wh | 2,000 W | not stated | $648.99 | $0.43 |
| FOSSiBOT F3600 Pro + 420W Portable Solar Panel | 3,840 Wh | 3,600 W | 2,000 W | $1,668.00 | $0.43 |
| FOSSiBOT F2400 + 200W & 420W Solar Panel | 2,048 Wh | 2,400 W | not stated | $898.00 | $0.44 |
NREL PVWatts recharge days for a 1,000 Wh station with one 200 W panel
| State (reference city) | December Wh/day (200 W) | December days to full | June Wh/day (200 W) | June days to full |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas (Houston) | 578 Wh | 1.7 days | 795 Wh | 1.3 days |
| California (Los Angeles) | 699 Wh | 1.4 days | 932 Wh | 1.1 days |
| Florida (Jacksonville) | 619 Wh | 1.6 days | 743 Wh | 1.3 days |
| New York (New York) | 466 Wh | 2.1 days | 761 Wh | 1.3 days |
| Maine (Portland) | 416 Wh | 2.4 days | 787 Wh | 1.3 days |
The four components inside every solar generator setup
Every solar generator consists of four hardware components working in sequence: photovoltaic solar panels that convert sunlight into direct current (DC), a Maximum Power Point Tracking (MPPT) solar charge controller, a lithium battery pack (usually LiFePO4) measured in watt-hours (Wh), and a pure-sine-wave inverter that converts DC battery power into 120 V or 240 V alternating current (AC).
In a portable power station, the MPPT charge controller, battery cells, and AC inverter are built into a single carryable case, while the solar panels connect externally via an XT60,XT60i, MC4, or Anderson cable. When a manufacturer sells the power station and folding solar panels together under one SKU, our database classifies that product as a bundle.
Source:Power Portable catalog bundle and station definitions (03-product-database.md)(checked 2026-11-06)How to calculate real solar recharge days using NREL PVWatts irradiance
Marketing brochures frequently claim that a 200 W solar panel recharges a 1,000 Wh power station in 5 hours (1,000 Wh / 200 W = 5). That calculation is only true on a lab bench because the sun does not shine at 1,000 W/m2 all day, panels heat up in sunlight, and MPPT conversion loses roughly 10%.
Our solar recharge calculator uses National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) PVWatts V8 monthly DC production data for a 1 kW fixed array in each US state's reference city (with 14% system losses). In Houston, Texas, a 1 kW array produces 3.21 kWh/day in December and 4.42 kWh/day in June. At 90% MPPT charging efficiency, a 200 W (0.2 kW) panel near Houston delivers 578 Wh/day in December (1.7 days to refill a depleted 1,000 Wh station) and 795 Wh/day in June (1.3 days to refill).
Source:NREL PVWatts V8 Houston TX raw data & Power Portable Solar Calculator (docs/evidence/09/pvwatts-tx-match.txt)(checked 2026-11-06)When to buy a brand solar bundle vs pairing third-party rigid MC4 panels
Brand-name folding portable solar panels (100 W to 400 W) fold into a briefcase and include plug-and-play cables, but typically add $1.50 to $2.50 per solar watt to the bundle price. If you need compact foldability for camping or RV storage, compare our verified station-plus-panel bundles in the table below.
For stationary home backup in a yard or shed, you can connect standard rigid glass residential or 100 W to 400 W 12 V/24 V MC4 solar panels at a fraction of the cost, provided the combined open-circuit voltage (Voc) of your series string never exceeds the power station's stated solar_input_max_v limit (especially in freezing weather when panel voltage rises).
Source:Power Portable catalog solar_input_max_w and solar_input_max_v specifications(checked 2026-11-06)Frequently asked questions
Can a solar generator power appliances while it is charging from solar panels?
Yes. Modern LiFePO4 portable power stations support pass-through solar charging, allowing the AC and DC outlets to supply loads while the MPPT controller charges the battery from solar panels. If solar input watts exceed load watts, the battery gains charge.
What happens if I exceed a power station's maximum solar input watts vs maximum voltage?
Exceeding the maximum solar input voltage (Voc) can permanently damage the internal MPPT controller MOSFETs. Exceeding maximum amps or watts slightly (over-paneling at safe voltage) is generally clipped safely by the MPPT current limit, but always stay within the manual's stated voltage ceiling.
Do solar generators qualify for the 30% federal residential clean energy tax credit?
Under IRS IRC Section 25D updates from the Inflation Reduction Act, standalone battery storage technology installed in a dwelling must have a capacity of at least 3 kilowatt-hours (3,000 Wh) to qualify. Consult a tax professional and IRS Form 5695 instructions for your specific setup.