UL 2743 safety standard for portable power stations explained
By Power Portable Editorial Staff · Updated · Picks come from manufacturer specs and current prices. We do not run hands-on tests.
Verified portable power stations that state UL 2743 compliance
The models below explicitly state UL 2743 on their manufacturer specification page or user manual. Filter the full price table by UL 2743 stated.
| Model | Capacity | Continuous AC | Chemistry | UL 2743 status | Price | $/Wh |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goal Zero Yeti 500 | 499 Wh | 500 W | LFP | UL 2743 stated | $499.95 | $1.00 |
| Goal Zero Yeti 700 | 677 Wh | 600 W | LFP | UL 2743 stated | $699.95 | $1.03 |
| Goal Zero Yeti PRO 8000 | 3,994 Wh | 3,600 W | LFP | UL 2743 stated | $5,998.95 | $1.50 |
| Goal Zero Yeti 300 | 297 Wh | 350 W | LFP | UL 2743 stated | $349.95 | $1.18 |
What ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 actually tests on a portable power station
Published by UL Standards & Engagement and designated as an American National Standard and National Standard of Canada, ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 ('Standard for Portable Power Packs') evaluates portable energy units that supply power to 120 V AC receptacles, USB ports, 12 V DC outlets, or vehicle jump-starter clamps.
To pass UL 2743 evaluation at a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) such as UL Solutions, Intertek (ETL), SGS, or TUV, the complete power station undergoes abnormal overcharge and forced-discharge tests, short-circuit tests on every AC and DC output port, dielectric voltage-withstand (hipot) and grounding/isolation checks on the 120 V inverter, mechanical drop and enclosure crush tests, and battery management system (BMS) single-fault failure analysis.
Source:UL Standards & Engagement ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 Standard Scope(checked 2026-11-06)How to spot cell-only claims vs full-unit UL 2743 and 3rd Edition updates
Many low-cost power station product pages print 'UL certified battery' in marketing graphics when only the internal cylindrical or prismatic cell was tested to UL 1642, while the high-voltage 120 V AC inverter board and plastic enclosure were never evaluated as a system. In our database, we record ul2743_claimed = 1 only when the manufacturer's official specification sheet or manual explicitly states UL 2743.
The 3rd Edition of ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 (published April 2023) tightened thermal runaway propagation testing, lithium-ion charging temperature supervision, and labeling requirements for high-capacity portable power stations. Retailers and municipalities increasingly require NRTL certification to UL 2743 for portable battery packs sold in the United States.
Source:ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 3rd Edition Standard Details & Power Portable Spec Extractor(checked 2026-11-06)Frequently asked questions
Is an ETL or SGS mark to UL 2743 equivalent to a UL mark?
Yes. Under OSHA's Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) program, UL Solutions, Intertek (ETL), SGS, CSA, and TUV can all test and certify products to the exact same ANSI/CAN/UL 2743 standard.
Why do some verified power stations show 'not stated' for UL 2743 in your table?
Power Portable never guesses safety certifications. If a manufacturer's official product page or user manual does not explicitly print 'UL 2743' in the specifications, our extractor records null ('not stated').
Can I filter the main price table to show only UL 2743 power stations?
Yes. Check the 'UL 2743 stated' filter box in the Features fieldset on the homepage price table (/?feat=ul2743) to isolate models that explicitly state UL 2743 compliance.